
TCPA and Telemarketing Rules · September 28, 2026 · GrowthPros
How many times is it acceptable to call someone?
Learn legal call frequency limits under TCPA and state laws. Avoid $500-$1,500 per-call fines with compliant outreach strategies for sales teams.

Key Facts
- Federal law sets no numeric call limit — the FTC only bans calling "repeatedly or continuously, with the intent to annoy, abuse, or harass," per its Telemarketing Sales Rule guide.
- Oklahoma, Maryland, and Oregon (starting January 1, 2026) cap commercial solicitation calls at three per 24-hour period, state telemarketing law analysis shows.
- TCPA statutory damages run $500 to $1,500 per call or text with no aggregate cap and a four-year statute of limitations, per state-level TCPA tracking.
- Roughly 2,588 TCPA lawsuits were filed between January and November 2025 alone, according to state-level TCPA tracking.
- Telemarketers must honor opt-out keywords like STOP, QUIT, and UNSUBSCRIBE within ten business days under BCLP's analysis of the TCPA opt-out rules.
- The FCC's 1:1 consent rule, effective January 27, 2025, requires consent naming the specific seller — generic "partner" checkboxes no longer work, per Kelley Drye's legal analysis.
- Contacting a lead within five minutes makes contact roughly 100x more likely than waiting thirty minutes, speed-to-lead benchmarks show.
The Frequency Question Nobody Can Answer With One Number
Sales teams want a hard cap. Federal law won't give them one. The FTC's Telemarketing Sales Rule prohibits calling "repeatedly or continuously, with the intent to annoy, abuse, or harass" — an intent-based standard that leaves the actual number dangerously open to interpretation. Guessing wrong costs $500 to $1,500 per call in statutory damages, with no aggregate cap and a four-year statute of limitations. Roughly 2,588 TCPA suits were filed between January and November 2025 alone.
The absence of a federal numeric limit doesn't mean there's no limit. Oklahoma and Maryland already cap commercial solicitation calls at three per 24-hour period, and Oregon's HB 3865 imposes the same three-calls-per-day limit effective January 1, 2026. For businesses running multi-state outreach, compliance must calibrate to the most restrictive applicable state law based on the recipient's actual location. GrowthPros builds this location-aware logic into every campaign, so the dialer adjusts automatically whether the prospect picks up in Tulsa, Baltimore, or Portland.
- Federal TSR uses an intent-based standard — no fixed number, just "repeatedly or continuously" with intent to annoy
- Oklahoma, Maryland, and Oregon (effective 2026) enforce a hard cap of three calls per 24 hours
- Statutory damages run $500–$1,500 per violation with no aggregate ceiling
- Four-year statute of limitations means exposure compounds long after the campaign ends
The safest approach isn't chasing a number. It's building a system that respects consent, honors opt-outs immediately across every channel, and never calls outside the 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. window — because the only thing more expensive than a compliance error is the lawsuit that follows it.
Where the Real Limits Live: State Call Caps and the Shift Away From Federal Rules
Where the Real Limits Live: State Call Caps and the Shift Away From Federal Rules
The absence of a universal numeric call limit under federal law has created a patchwork of state-level restrictions that define the true boundaries of acceptable outreach. While the FTC’s Telemarketing Sales Rule prohibits calls made "repeatedly or continuously, with the intent to annoy, abuse, or harass," it does not specify a maximum number of calls per day. This intent-based standard leaves significant ambiguity for businesses conducting multi-state campaigns, especially as state legislatures step in with concrete numeric caps. According to state telemarketing law analysis, Oklahoma and Maryland currently cap commercial solicitation calls at three per 24-hour period, and Oregon’s HB 3865 will enforce the same limit starting January 1, 2026.
These state-level developments reflect a broader trend: at least a dozen states have passed stricter telemarketing statutes since 2021, many exceeding federal baselines on call frequency, consent requirements, and calling hours. For businesses like GrowthPros that deliver leads across multiple states, compliance cannot rely on a single national standard. Instead, a defensible outbound calling program must dynamically adjust to the most restrictive applicable law based on the recipient’s actual location. This means implementing systems that enforce a three-call daily cap for prospects in Oklahoma, Maryland, and Oregon — while also honoring stricter consent rules, opt-out mechanisms, and time-of-day restrictions wherever they apply.
- Honor Do Not Call requests immediately and permanently across SMS, voice, and email
- Restrict calling to 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. local time for the recipient
- Obtain prior express written consent that is specific and topically related
- Document opt-out requests for at least four years using FCC-endorsed keywords
- Maintain call detail records for two years as required by the TSR
For companies purchasing or reactivating leads, this location-aware approach is not just about avoiding liability — it’s about respecting consumer preferences and maintaining brand trust. Statutory damages under the TCPA can reach $500 to $1,500 per violation, with no aggregate cap and a four-year statute of limitations, making noncompliance a costly risk. As noted by legal analysts, the real threat isn’t just the fine — it’s the reputational damage and operational disruption that follow regulatory scrutiny. By aligning outreach practices with the strictest state limits — particularly the three-call daily cap now emerging in key jurisdictions — businesses can build sustainable, compliant lead engagement strategies that protect both consumers and their bottom line. This precision is especially critical for AI-driven follow-up systems, where speed and scale must be balanced with legal safeguards to ensure every contact is both timely and lawful.
The Non-Negotiables: Consent, Opt-Outs, and Calling Hours
However many calls you decide to make, none of them matter if you break the rules that apply to every single contact. Consent, opt-outs, calling hours, and recordkeeping aren't frequency questions — they're the floor beneath any compliant outreach program.
Start with consent. The FCC's 1:1 consent rule, effective January 27, 2025, requires specific, logically and topically related prior express written consent for marketing calls and texts by a particular seller, according to legal analysis from Kelley Drye. A generic "I agree to receive calls from partners" checkbox no longer covers your campaign — the consent must name the actual seller making the call.
Opt-out handling carries its own teeth. The FCC has endorsed a set of reasonable revocation keywords, and businesses must honor any reasonable opt-out request within 10 business days, per BCLP's breakdown of the TCPA's opt-out rules. You also cannot dictate how a consumer revokes consent. The recognized keywords are:
- STOP
- QUIT
- END
- REVOKE
- OPT-OUT, CANCEL, UNSUBSCRIBE
Calling hours are fixed: no outbound telemarketing calls before 8 a.m. or after 9 p.m. local time, per the FTC's Telemarketing Sales Rule compliance guide. Note that "local" means the recipient's time zone — a 7 p.m. call from your East Coast office can violate the rule if the prospect lives in California. The TSR also applies regardless of the technology used, and even to calls made from outside the U.S. targeting American consumers.
Then there's the paper trail. The TSR requires businesses to keep records for two years. But BCLP's analysis recommends retaining consent and opt-out documentation for at least four years, matching the TCPA's statute of limitations. That matters because statutory damages run $500 to $1,500 per call or text with no aggregate cap — and roughly 2,588 TCPA suits were filed between January and November 2025 alone, per state-level TCPA tracking.
One more rule reshapes modern outreach: the FCC's February 8, 2024 Declaratory Ruling classifies AI-generated voices as "artificial or pre-recorded voice" under the TCPA, as Kelley Drye notes. AI dialing isn't a compliance loophole — it triggers the same consent requirements as any robocall.
This is why GrowthPros attaches a consent record — disclosure text, timestamp, IP address, and named contacting party — to every lead it delivers, and DNC-scrubs every list before outbound contact. Frequency discipline means little if the foundation underneath it fails.
Exclusive leads by niche, followed up in minutes — including the leads you already paid for. Book a free 15-minute qualification call to see what your niche looks like.
A Compliant Call Cadence You Can Actually Run
Knowing the rules is one thing; running a call program that survives them is another. The good news is that a compliant cadence is also what converts best — fewer, faster, consented touches beat brute-force dialing every time.
Start with a hard cap: three dialing attempts per prospect per 24-hour period, everywhere. Federal law sets no numeric limit — the FTC's standard prohibits calling "repeatedly or continuously, with the intent to annoy, abuse, or harass" — but state-level telemarketing statutes increasingly do. Oklahoma and Maryland already cap commercial solicitation calls at three per 24 hours, and Oregon's HB 3865 adds the same limit effective January 1, 2026. Calibrating to the strictest applicable state law based on the recipient's location is the defensible default.
Next, stagger those three attempts across the legal calling window. Telemarketers may only call between 8 a.m. and 9 p.m. local time for the recipient, so space attempts across morning, midday, and early evening rather than clustering them. Three calls in ninety minutes isn't a cadence — it's a harassment claim with the TCPA's $500-to-$1,500 per-violation damages attached.
Your operational checklist looks like this:
- Cap dialing at three attempts per 24 hours, with location-aware controls that adjust to the recipient's state.
- Stagger attempts across the 8 a.m.–9 p.m. window instead of stacking them.
- Log every attempt and every opt-out, retaining records for at least four years to match the TCPA statute of limitations.
- Honor opt-outs immediately and permanently across SMS, voice, and email — within ten business days at the legal maximum.
- Rotate channels: SMS first, voice follow-up, email backup, rather than hammering one channel.
That last point matters more than most teams realize. Multi-channel follow-up spreads your touches across consented channels, which reduces frequency pressure on any single one and reaches people where they actually respond. This is exactly how GrowthPros structures its AI follow-up — every delivered lead gets voice, SMS, and email contact inside a five-minute window, with the consent trail attached, rather than a rep redialing the same number into oblivion.
The reason is arithmetic, not preference. Contacting a lead within five minutes makes contact roughly 100x more likely than waiting thirty minutes, and about 78% of buyers choose whoever responds first. Speed-to-lead, not call volume, is the variable that moves close rates. A compliant cadence forces you into that discipline: if you can only call three times, you make the first attempt count.
That's the real insight buried in the compliance rules. The regulations that cap your dialing are quietly endorsing the strategy that converts best — fewer touches, delivered faster, backed by documented consent. If your current program is built on redial volume, it's not just legally exposed; it's leaving responsive leads on the table while slower competitors win them.
Why Every Lead You Call Should Arrive With a Consent Trail
Every call you make without a documented consent trail is a $500 to $1,500 bet that the person on the other end never sues — and with roughly 2,588 TCPA suits filed between January and November 2025, that bet is getting worse. The question "how many times can I call someone" changes completely when you can prove they agreed to be called in the first place.
The FCC's 1:1 consent direction, effective January 27, 2025, requires specific, logically and topically related prior express written consent for marketing contact by a particular seller. Generic "partner offers" language no longer covers you. Every lead needs a record showing exactly what the person agreed to, when, and with whom.
A complete consent trail answers four questions before you dial:
- What disclosure text did the consumer actually see when they opted in?
- When did consent happen — is there a verifiable timestamp and IP address?
- Which named party is authorized to contact them?
- Has the number been DNC-scrubbed, and is any opt-out honored immediately and permanently across SMS, voice, and email?
Opt-out handling deserves equal weight. The FCC's rules effective April 11, 2025 establish per se reasonable revocation methods — keywords like STOP, QUIT, END, REVOKE, OPT-OUT, CANCEL, and UNSUBSCRIBE — and businesses must honor requests within ten business days. Legal experts recommend retaining opt-out documentation for at least four years, matching the TCPA statute of limitations.
Before dialing any list, audit it. For fresh lead sources, ask the vendor for the disclosure text, timestamp, IP, and named contacting party on every record — if they cannot produce it, the lead is a liability, not an asset. For dormant CRM lists, the bar is a pre-existing, opted-in relationship: if you cannot trace consent back to its source, reactivation is off the table. The FTC's TSR recordkeeping obligations, expanded effective May 16, 2024, make this documentation a requirement, not a courtesy.
This is the standard GrowthPros builds into every lead before delivery: consent-recorded, DNC-scrubbed, and followed up inside a five-minute window across voice, SMS, and email. Frequency risk drops sharply when the person you are calling actually asked to be contacted — and when the record proves it.
The next step is operational. A 15-minute qualification call maps your niche, your lists, and your compliance gaps to real numbers — no invented pricing, no commitment. Book yours at growthpros.marketing, or email [email protected] to have your dormant, opted-in list reviewed the same business day.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a federal law that sets a specific number of times I can call a prospect?
No, the FTC's Telemarketing Sales Rule does not specify a maximum number of calls; instead, it prohibits calling "repeatedly or continuously, with the intent to annoy, abuse, or harass" — an intent-based standard rather than a fixed numeric limit FTC compliance guide.
Which states currently cap how many times I can call someone in a day?
Oklahoma and Maryland currently cap commercial solicitation calls at three per 24-hour period, and Oregon's HB 3865 will impose the same three-calls-per-day limit effective January 1, 2026 state telemarketing law analysis.
What are the penalties if I call too often or violate TCPA rules?
Statutory damages range from $500 to $1,500 per call or text with no aggregate cap, and there is a four-year statute of limitations — roughly 2,588 TCPA suits were filed between January and November 2025 alone TCPA tracking data.
Do I have to honor opt-out requests immediately, and what keywords count?
Yes, businesses must honor reasonable opt-out requests within 10 business days and cannot dictate how consumers revoke consent; FCC-endorsed per se reasonable keywords include STOP, QUIT, END, REVOKE, OPT-OUT, CANCEL, and UNSUBSCRIBE BCLP opt-out rules breakdown.
What calling hours am I legally allowed to use for outbound telemarketing?
Telemarketers may only call between 8 a.m. and 9 p.m. local time for the recipient, and this restriction applies regardless of the technology used or whether calls originate from outside the U.S. FTC Telemarketing Sales Rule compliance guide.
Does using AI-generated voices for outbound calls change the consent requirements?
No, the FCC's February 8, 2024 Declaratory Ruling classifies AI-generated voices as "artificial or pre-recorded voice" under the TCPA, meaning they trigger the same prior express written consent requirements as any robocall Kelley Drye legal analysis.
Turning Compliance Into Your Competitive Edge
The answer to how many times you can call someone isn’t a magic number — it’s a system built on consent, respect, and precision. Federal law leaves frequency open to interpretation, but states like Oklahoma, Maryland, and Oregon are drawing a clear line at three calls per 24 hours, with more likely to follow. What matters most isn’t just staying under that cap — it’s honoring opt-outs instantly, calling only between 8 a.m. and 9 p.m. local time, and maintaining a documented consent trail for every contact. When you align your outreach with these rules, you’re not just avoiding $500–$1,500 per-call risks — you’re creating a faster, more trusted path to real conversations. GrowthPros delivers leads that come pre-qualified, consent-recorded, and ready for AI-powered follow-up within five minutes — because speed-to-lead, not call volume, drives conversions. See how your niche stacks up: book a free 15-minute qualification call at growthpros.marketing to review your lists and close the gap between compliance and performance.
This article is general information, not legal or financial advice. Benchmark figures are directional industry data, not guarantees of results.